Freezing Green Beans

Green beans are probably my family’s favorite veggie. They are equally loved by all, unlike other delicious things that some weirdos that I married and gave birth to don’t like, like cucumbers) but we have green beans coming out of our ears in the garden and I finally realized I couldn’t eat them as fast as we were picking them, especially since we left to go camping this weekend. Fortunately, they are easy to freeze! Just blanche them in boiling water for 3 minutes, drain them and transfer them to ice water for another 3 minutes to stop the cooking process. Freeze and enjoy them later in the year!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Amy Green said,

    I love blanching my veggies and then using them later to cook. I usually do this for a stir-fry. I haven’t thought of freezing them, though, so this is a great tip. 🙂

  2. 3

    windy L said,

    can’t wait to try this with new crop opf beans

  3. 4

    windy L said,

    waiting for new crop of bean to try this


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

