Recipie Free Salsa

For someone who lives in South Texas, I’m way too much of a worrywart when it comes to making salsa. I always want a recipe. But I made a double batch of my avocado tomatillo salsa for Cinco de Mayo last week and I have some odds and ends leftover from that and other cooking projects. I threw this salsa together, and while it looks much less red than most of us are used to, it tastes delicious and very fresh. Salsa is very forgiving, I’m learning and when you make it fresh it’s a great, preservative-free snack. I froze most of this batch in ice cube trays which I then transferred to freezer bags so I can thaw out just as much as I need when it’s time for a snack!

This salsa included: 5 tomatillos, 3 vine-ripe tomatoes, one chopped onion, 3-4 garlic cloves, a handful of fresh cilantro, one seeded jalapeno, the juice from half a lime and salt. (I guess that’s a bit of a recipe after all, eh?)

Leave a Reply

