Freezing Pesto

…isn’t hard to do at all, you just omit the parmesan cheese and add it back in later after you defrost. If you freeze it in an ice cube tray then you pop out just the small amounts needed to add to spagetti sauce. If you want to make pasta with pesto, you can put the whole bag of cubes in a bowl of warm water, then snip off the end of the bag and squeeze out the pesto once it has defrosted, add the parmesan cheese, then toss it with your pasta.

I made three batches of pesto using a mix of the three different kinds of pesto (sweet basil, lemon basil, and thai basil) I grow in an old washtub on my front porch (The washtub was rescued from a pile of trash by the side of the road. Don’t ever say I’m not classy.). The amount picture made two batches, and I made a third batch from sweet basil alone from my mom’s garden. One ice tray filled equaled one batch and I put each batch in a seperate freezer bag.

Classic Pesto Recipe

2 cups of fresh packed basil leaves
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/3 cup pine nuts or walnuts (I have also used sunflower seeds in the past)
1/2 cup of olive oil
3 cloves of fresh garlic
salt and pepper to taste.

Whirl all the above in a food processor. Wave your hands in the air and say “TAH DAH!” and you’re done!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] classier habits) is full of more basil…three kinds: lemon, thai, and sweet. My family LOVES pesto and it’s expensive to buy fresh basil, the jarred stuff at the supermarket is also expensive […]

  2. 2

    […] you pesto’d to death? I just wanted to show how easy it is to reconstitute frozen pesto. I threw the cubes in […]

  3. 3

    […] is a super easy pasta dish recipe I saw in the BHG special publication magazine Mixing Bowl. I used pesto from my freezer but you can also make your pesto fresh or use prepurchased. While the water is boiling for your […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

