Farfalle With Mushrooms and Spinach

This recipe comes from the 03/09 issue of Ladies’ Home Journal. I made a few small changes.

6 oz dried farfalle (bow ties), or other GI friendly pasta
1 tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, chapped
1 cup sliced portobellor or other fresh mushrooms (I used button mushrooms)
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 cups spinach, thinly sliced (I used baby spinach since it is the most tender)
1 tsp fresh thyme leaves, chopped (I omitted)
1/8 tsp ground black pepper (I also added some salt to taste)
2 tbsp shredded parmesan cheese (I used more, love me some cheese)

Cook pasta according to package directions. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion, mushrooms, and garlic and cook, stirring occassionally, until tender, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in spinach, thyme and pepper and cook until spinach is slightly wilted, about 1 minutes.

Toss mushroom and spinach mixture with pasta and sprinkle with cheese.

Notes: Next time I make this I think I will add some feta for some creaminess and extra flavor!

Leave a Reply

