Books About Bread

Most low carb diets make bread out to be the enemy.  It’s not, of course.  But it is my drug of choice (bread, popcorn, and potatoes far outweigh sweets anyday).  If you eat breads that are made from whole grains and are higher in fiber they can be a good part of a glycemic index/diabetic friendly diet.  There are plenty of good ones on the market, already.  My favorite whole wheat bagette? The one made by Panera Bread and is one of the side options available to you for no extra charge.  I also really like to bake my own bread, and have been adapting recipes to make them more GI friendly and sharing those recipes here on the blog.  But alot of people are scared of baking bread.  Working with yeast is a bit scary, isn’t it?  My first (many, many) loaves of bread were shapeless nasty lumps.  I finally got successful with foccacia, but it wasn’t until I discovered the Tassajara Bread Book did  I finaly really start to understand the chemistry of bread.  Here are my three going to a deserted island with me bread books:

The Tassajara Bread Book By Edward Espe Brown — This is the one mentioned above.  It explains the chemistry of how yeast reacts, how to manage the temperature of water, how to speed up and/or retard the rising, and all those scarey aspects of bread making in a way that even an idiot (me) can understand.  I have never, ever had any of his bread recipes fail on me.  Ed Brown is my bread hero.

Beard On Bread By James Beard — If the one above is Bread Baking 101, then this book is a good 201.  It’s full of delicious recipes (including the un-GI friendly but so delicious potato bread, a carb lovers dream) that are easy to follow once you feel comfortable with the basis.

The Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book: A Guide To Whole Grain Breadmaking by Laurel Robertson — A great understnading of working with whole grain breads, before whole grain breads were cool.  I wouldn’t start with this one (I tried that back when I was about 19, whole grains are harder to work with hence the bricks) but once you are comfie with the chemistry of bread and want to start getting more GI friendly with your recipes, this book will be invaluable.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    draabe said,

    These look like great resources – this is a nice compilation; thanks.

  2. 2

    arteesvida said,

    Thanks! I just bought Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day but haven’t done anything with it yet, I’m hoping it will be worth adding to the deserted island list!

  3. 3

    Kathleen said,

    I thoroughly agree with your bread book choices – they are all so good. Iisn’t it interesting how many people have found the Tassajara Bread Book so valuable? The media tends to tell us that ‘new’ is always better, but this great retro book has indeed a classic.

    Thanks for your blog, and thanks for your recommendations.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

