Refrigerator Pickles

Amber did some good old-fashioned (and delicious looking!) canned pickles.  I like the super crunchiness of Classen pickles so I thought I would try my hand at some refrigerator pickles this past week.

These were super-easy!  I used the recipe from here.  The only difference was I heated the solution enough to dissolve salt (since I was using a coarser grain sea salt).  I used two large garlic cloves and some fresh dill.  (I wasn’t a huge fan of the dill and ended up taking it out a few days later, but my husband liked it).

The flavor started to emerge on the 3rd day.  My husband has eaten a few but I’m letting them soak up the flavors a little longer.  They will last a good three months in the fridge.  Think I’ll do some hamburger slices next!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] I used produce from the new Pearl Brewery Farmer’s market and Greenling. Just like the refrigerator pickles, this will be ready to eat in about 5 […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

