Avocado Tomatillo Salsa — Verde Verde Verde!

 

My coworkers and I (and our kids and our spouses) have a favorite after work hangout that serves great mexican food, margaritas voted the best in San Antonio, and a two story indoor playground.  What more could a girl want?  Actually, what I really wanted is their avocado salsa recipe, they have a bar of homemade salsas and this one is my favorite.  I found a very close version of it on the About network and tried it this weekend.  Delish!

2 ripe avocado
4 tomatillos, husks removed
1/4 cup cilantro leaves
1/2 cup green onion
1 tablespoon lemon (or lime) juice
1/2 of a jalapeno, fresh, seeded
1 teaspoon salt
1 large garlic cloves
1/2 of a small onion

Coarsley chop all incredients and add to a food processor or blender. Blend to desired smootheness (or chunkiness).  You may want to rinse the tomatillos after you remove the husks, they are always a bit sticky.  The salt and lemon juice will help prevent browning, but you can also use a little Fruit Fresh, especially if the salsa will not be eaten all immediately (though not eating it all will be difficult!)

Delicious with Mexican food or just as a dip.  The most readily accessible whole grain tortilla chips I have found are Tostitos brand.  Many speciality stores such as Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Sun Harvest, or HEB Central Market will have other brands and options of whole grain chips…you can also fry your own, though they won’t be as think and crispy as the store bought brands!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    dksbook said,

    I think you did it, I think this is what I’ve been looking for….

  2. 2

    […] a worrywart when it comes to making salsa. I always want a recipe. But I made a double batch of my avocado tomatillo salsa for Cinco de Mayo last week and I have some odds and ends leftover from that and other cooking […]

  3. 3

    Chuno said,

    Wow… thank you so much! This is the best salsa verde recipe I have been able to find…. strongly recommend….


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

