Go Ahead, Ignore It Bread (GI friendly!)

Laurie Colwin’s Bread Recipie

Before you go to bed, fling 1 cup of oatmeal into your blender and grind it up. Put the oatmeal, 1 cup of wheat germ, 6 cups of flour (Bread flour, all purpose flour, or half wheat and half bread flour), 1 tbs of salt and 1/2 tsp (yes! just half a teaspoon!) of yeast into a large bowl. About 3 cups of tepid water will make up the dough. (I threw it in my kitchen aid stand mixer with the dough hook). After it is kneaded, roll it flour and put back in the bowl you mixed it up in. Cover the bowl (towel, plastic wrap) and go to bed. (I use a dish towel rinsed in warm water and wrung out very well.)

The next morning, make the coffee and knock down the bread. Divide it in half and put each half into a buttered bread tin (pyrex in my case). Cover the tins with a tea towel and go to work.(Since I was home I kneaded again before puttin them in the loaf pans so they rose faster).

When you get home, heat the oven to 400. Paint the top of the loaves with milk (this is a frill and need not be done, but it makes a nice-looking crust) and bake for about 40 minutes, turning once (I didnt turn, I also didnt bake it quite that long, check it starting at about 30 minutes…most Laurie Colwin recipes seem to call for too much cooking time I think).

Leave a Reply

