Yellow Squash Bread — Diabetic and GI Friendly

Squash apparently works in bread as well as zucchini and carrot, and one loaf of bread used up two of the yellow little buggers, which is definately the best part.  I told my kids it was cinnamon bread and it got scarfed up before I even had a chance to take a picture!

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour

1/2 cup wheat flour (I used King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinnamon (or a spice bend of your choice, I used Penzey’s Cake Spice)

2 eggs

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup Splenda

1/2 cup canola oil

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 cups grated yellow squash.

Combine the first five ingredients and set aside.  Combine eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla in a lagre bowl.  Mix well and stir in the grated squash.  Add the dry ingredients and stir until moistened.  Pour batter into a greased and floured loaf pan.  Bake at 350 for 50 minutes.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack.  This step is important since the bread keeps cooking even after you take it out of the oven, the center will be slightly underdone otherwise.

Makes 1 loaf.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anna said,

    I love this recipe as well as your site. I have a son who is a JV 1 diabetic and always look for good recipes for him. I am not a fan of splenda. Can I use agave instead or brown rice sryup? If so, how do I change the ingredients?

    Can I sub the sugar/splenda with one of the above sugar subs or will it alter the recipe too much?

    • 2

      arteesvida said,

      I haven’t made this particular recipe with agave yet, but if you look at the tabs at the top of the blog there is one for Agave and it includes instructions for altering any recipe to use agave including how to change the liquids in the recipe and the bakig times. Hope that helps!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

