Glycemic Index Diet Staple — Brown Rice

Brown rice is a pain to cook.  I’ve tried cooking it from scratch and I thought it might possible make me cry.  I’ve tried to make rice pilaf using brown rice and THAT was a joke.  My big brown rice secret is that I use…..instant.

That’s right boys and girls.  I have a confession to make.  I freakin’ LOVE Success Boil In Bag Brown Rice.  It comes in a regular size and family size boil bags and it’s the primary rice I use now (I don’t even keep white rice in the house anymore, too tempting).  And it’s GOOD, really good.  I made chicken and veggie stir fry for a work potluck and brought brown rice to go with it.  I had people ask me what rice cooker I use because brown rice won’t work in theirs, and they didn’t believe it was instant.

If cooking brown rice is an overwhelming pain in the butt for you like it is for me, try the boil in bag version.  I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

There are several othered flavored brown rice varieties that I have tried.  There are many more out there, so please share a review of your favorites!

Uncle Ben’s Whole Grain and Wild Rice — Mushroom Recipe.  This one is my favorite of the pre-seasoned whole grain rice mixes.  It has a nice flavor and my kids love it too!

Bonus:  Click here for a coupon for $1.00 off two boxes of Uncle Ben’s rices.

Rice-A-Roni Savory Whole Grain Blends Chicken and Herb Classico.  This one is my favorite of the Rice A Roni blends and is a good side to chicken dishes.

Rice-A-Roni Savory Whole Grain Blends Roasted Garlic Italiano. Is also good, and one I purchase regularly.  I need to experiment with adding some more garlic and herbs to it though.

Rice-A-Roni Savory Whole Grain Spanish  is the only substitute I’ve found for Spanish rice that is GI friendly.  It’s not bad but it doesn’t come close to the Mahatma Spanish Rice mix that I LOVE but is made with white rice.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mfrgolfgti said,

    Hi, I don’t understand why you think brown rice is a pain to cook. Take 50g of brown rice, put in a saucepan. Add boiling water and maybe some a chicken or veg stock cube and some garlic & herbs for taste. Boil for 30-35 minutes. Strain. Serve. What’s so difficult about that? It works perfectly for me every time and always has done.

  2. 3

    Katherine said,

    Hello, I’m searching for diet related blogs like mine http://www.chiefdietician.com and I stumbled your site, nice blog!. I hope you could also include me in your blogroll.

    By the way, you have a very good writing skills here. Keep up the good work.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

