No Sugar Added Mango Papaya Strawberry Sherbet

The Summer 2007 issue of Diabetic Living featured a recipe called “Choose-A-Fruit Tropical Sherbet.”  With a few modifications for the sake of simplication, it turned out DELICIOUS!

1 cup Splenda

1 envelope unflavored gelatin (I used flavored gelatin, lemon I think, because that is what I had…just use something that works flavor-wise)

2 cups unsweeted pineapple juice or orange juice (I used orange)

2 cups chopped, peeled mango, kiwifruit or red papaya (I used a bag of frozen papaya, strawberries, and mangos from the freezer section of my grocery store)

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp finely shredded lime peel or lemon peel (I nixed this step)

1/2 cup lime juice or lemon juice (I think I used lime, most likely what I had on hand)

3 drops of yellow green red or orange food coloring (eh, too much work)

Cut up fruit (again with the too much work)

In a medium saucepan, combine sugar and unflavored gelatin.  Stir in orange juice.  Coor and stirl until sugar and gelatin are dissoved.  Remove saucepan from heat.

Place fruit in a blender or food processor, cover and blend or process until pureed.  Because I used frozen fruit, I hadded the ingredients from the first step so it would blend.  If you use fresh fruit, you won’t need this step.

In a large bowl, stir together the above ingredients with the buttermilk and lime juice (and peel and food coloring if you insist).  Cover and chill about 4 hours.

Freeze mixture in an ice cream freezer according to manufacturer’s directions.

Leave a Reply

