Summertime Cold Treats

The prepurchased treats I’m most diggin’ on right now are the Dryer’s no sugar added popsicles. They have several flavors and taste just like the original…and also only 40 calories a pop! (Get it? I said POP!)

I also finally found an NSA ice cream I like….Blue Bunny Double Strawberry.  The natural sweetness of the strawberries cuts the whang of the artificial sweetner.  It’s REALLY good!

I also made my own breakfast popsicles today!  When my daughter was little, I used to blend vanilla yogurt and orange juice to make orange dreamsicles that she could eat for breakfast.  She adored them, especially during her teething years in the summer.  I made a delicious G.I. friendly version of them that are also delicious:

G.I. Dreamsicles

1 cup of Diet V8 Splash, flavor of your choice (I used tropical fruit)

1 cup fat-free lite (lower sugar) vanilla yogurt.

Add both to a bowl and blend with a whisk.  This will make enough to fill a standard 4-pack homemade popsicle maker and will make a yummy, cold green light breakfast or treat!

 Here is a popsicle recipe that I found on Cooks.com and adapted to sugar-free, they were a big hit!

TRADITIONAL POPSICLES

1 (3 oz.) pkg. Sugar-Free Jello, any flavor
1 pkg. NSA Kool-Aid, any flavor
1/2 to 1 c. sugar substitute (such as Splenda)
2 c. hot water
2 c. cold water

Dissolve the dry ingredients in the hot water, stir until disolved then mix in the cold water. Pour into popsicle molds. Freeze. Eat.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

