Getting Started With The GI Diet

This is the book that I use as the basis for my own GI diet and lifestyle.

The premise is super-simple and is based on a traffic light. Red foods? Don’t eat em. They bad for you. Yellow foods? Eat in moderation. Green foods? The stuff that’s good for you. You can eat as much as you want of them in many circumstances. If you are trying to maintain your blood sugar and weight, stick to greens and yellows. If you are trying to lose weight, focus on the greens.

Instead of counting calories, you use the traffic light system and general portion ideas. For example, your protein should take up about 1/4 of your plate.

And you CAN have carbs! The idea of glycemic index is how slowly you metabolize the carbs not the carbs themselves. So whole grains are OK! Have brown rice instead of white, have wheat tortillas instead of flour or corn. It works because these foods are filling and help KEEP you full for longer periods of time.

I have been on the G.I. diet for about 6 weeks now. I have lost between 10-15 pounds. (I really try to stay away from the scale so the numbers don’t dictate my life.) I know those numbers will slow down, as all weight loss numbers do. But the important thing is that my blood sugar is incredibly stable throughout the day. My glucometer is bored and out of work!

There are alot of good books out there, and different versions of the GI diet plan (South Beach is the big one). Pick the one that best suits you and your lifestyle and give it a try. Even if you don’t have diabetes issues or weight issues, you will find yourself feeling better within weeks!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mr WordPress said,

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. 2

    Autumn said,

    Hey Faith,
    Just a question for you on the GI. Not sure if this is even applicable. Wondering if you’ve heard anything about Conjugated Linoleic Acid (CLA) as a supplement to take when doing this type of diet (or others, for that matter).
    I saw a short blurb in the Vitamin Cottage magazine, but can’t find it. J bought some, and we’ve been taking one a day, but I can’t say I really see any results. (go figure).

    Any words of wisdom on that?
    Autumn

  3. 3

    arteesvida said,

    I haven’t heard of it, but that’s not surprising since I tend to be behind the curve on supplements…what is it designed to do for you?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment