Low Sugar Oatmeal Crumb Topping

I’ve been experimenting with Oatmeal crumb toppings converted to G.I. friendly since I started the G.I. diet.  They make a good alternative to pie crust, and the oatmeal is alot better for you.  This recipe is enough for two small pies, or one large cobbler.  I used it on a small fresh peach and plum cobbler this past weekend and froze the rest of the topping to use on my next baking project!

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Mix*
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup  Oatmeal (not instant)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt

In a large mixing bowl combine all the ingredients except the butter. Cut butter into mixture with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse bread crumbs. Spread crumbs over prepared fruit mixture of your favorite fruit pie. Do NOT add top crust. Bake as directed in your fruit pie recipe. If crumbs become too dark while baking, cover loosely with foil, but remove foil the last few minutes of bakings so the topping will crisp.

Note: when using this topping there is no need to dot the fruit with butter, if your recipe calls for that.

* This equals 1/4 of a cup of brown sugar for the entire recipe.  Not bad.  You could substitute the Splenda 50/50 with a whole cup of the Sugar Twin Brown Sugar Substitute.  You will probably need to bake it a little longer since it doesn’t carmelize and bubble up as quickly.  I’ve tried it both ways and the Sugar Twin version isn’t bad, but I like the Splenda 50/50 better.

Peach and Plum Cobbler: I bought fresh peaches and plums at the farmer’s market and what didn’t get eaten as snacks, I turned into a very juicy cobbler!  The fruit peeled easily by dipping them in a pan of boiling water for a few seconds.  I peeled them, smashed them, removed the pits, and put the chunks of fruit in a baking dish.  I sprinkled on a little lemon juice then added the crumb topping.  I baked the whole thing for about 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven and served it with No Sugar Added vanilla ice cream.  If you use frozen fruit, don’t defrost it first, just bake the cobbler a little longer, about 60 to 70 minutes.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] enough to make a small cobbler.  The berries were so ripe and juicy that I added nothing to them, just the GI friendly crumb topping I developed last summer…so […]

  2. 2

    […] If you are using frozen berries, don’t defrost them first!Spoon into prepared loaf pan.  Add crumb topping if desired (it’s REALLY good with this recipe).  Bake at 350° for 60 to 75 minutes, until a […]

  3. 3

    […] blackberries of the season were at the farmer’s market this past weekend. I used the same oatmeal crumb topping that I’ve been using for years but since the blackberries were not as sweet as they will be in […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

