BATTER-FRIED ZUCCHINI STICKS

We bought some zucchini at the farmer’s market today that I wanted to throw on the grill like last week’s yellow squash.  But my husband was NOT HAVING IT.  He wanted FRIED zucchini or he was going to go on STRIKE.

1 c. sifted flour (I used unbleached)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 c. milk
2 tbsp. oil
1 lb. zucchini, cut into 3 or 4-inch sticks
Additional flour (optional)
Oil for deep frying 

Sift flour with baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Combine egg, milk and 2 tablespoons oil. Slowly add to dry ingredients, beating until smooth. Pat zucchini sticks very dry and if desired dredge lightly in flour. Dip pieces, one at a time, in batter. Fry in deep oil heated to 375 degrees until golden brown (About a 7 or 8 setting on the stove). Drain on paper towels.

NOTE: Vegetables that may be substituted for zucchini include artichoke hearts,  cauliflowerets, sweet potato sticks, etc.

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] This is how I like my fried zucchini.   However my husband grew up eating it battered in corn meal and requested I cook them that way.  This was one tough little dude of a zucchini so I first soaked the slices in buttermilk, dipped them in my cornmeal mixture (1 cup cornmeal, 1 cup unbleached flour, salt, and pepper), dipped them in egg (two beaten eggs) and then dipped them again in the cornmeal mixture.  Fried them in canola oil, put them on paper towels to drain and then salted them.  To keep them hot, I turned the oven to 170 to preheat, stashed them inside, in a dish with paper towels for draining, then turned the oven off.  This also helped them soften a bit.  […]

  2. 2

    DawnMcD said,

    I made this tonight for my family with a large zucchini given to us y a friend. I made it in thick
    slices rather than sticks. It was delicious! I went ahead a fried up the left over batter fritter style
    and it was a big hit as well! So bad for us but oh so good! thank you for the recipe!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

